What is Emotional Development?

Emotional development is the ability of an individual to recognize, express and manage their feelings in different situations. It also involves how a person reacts to the feelings of others and growth mindset. This emotional development is largely influenced by the environment and the people with which a person frequently interacts.
Stages of Emotional Development

Stage 1: 0-6 months
Babies begin learning straight after birth. At this age, the infants familiarize with their family and the home environment. The most significant development at this stage is the baby’s ability to smile or respond to familiar sounds.

Stage 2: 6 months – 1 year
After 6 months, your baby should be able to distinguish strangers from family members. This stage is typified by the baby’s ability to:
• Express happiness, anger, fear, and sadness.
• Express frustration if you take a toy from them.
• Respond to gestures
• Become anxious when separated from a familiar person especially the mother.
• Imitate simple actions

Stage 3: 1-2 years
Here, your child begins developing a sense of self-awareness. They should:
• Recognize their reflection in mirrors
• Respond positively to compliments
• Become more self-assertive
• Try to assist you
• Be able to show anger and frustration

Stage 4: 2-3 years
Children start becoming creative after their second birthday. Developments at this age group are:
• Become aware of their gender
• Frequent mood swings
• Become defensive of their possessions
• Saying no to parental requests
• Developing a personal taste of clothing, food, toys and so forth.

Stage 5: 3-4 years
Three-year-olds should be capable of doing small tasks without significant assistance. Also, they should be able to create game ideas and share their toys with friends and growth mindset.

Stage 5: 4-6 years
Your child's reasoning and cognitive skills start developing at this age. It is at this stage that the child starts competing with others, creates meaningful friendships, and is able to differentiate good and bad behaviors.

Stage 7: 7-12 years
This is the school-going stage. As a result of the exposure, your child should:
• Follow rules correctly
• Show interest in certain subjects
• Interact well with peers
• Exhibit self-discipline

Stage 8: 12-20 years
Also known as the adolescent phase, this is the age where a psychological crisis manifests itself on an individual. It involves
• Rebellious responses to certain issues
• Several instances of self-doubt
• Seeking intimacy
• Isolation
• growth mindset
• Self-consciousness about appearances.

If you are looking for Emotional Development for kids growth mindset please visit The Mindfulness Academy of Asia (MAA) is a new subsidiary school of The American School of Bangkok, specializing in the teaching and learning of mindfulness in education.